Skip to main content

Mayor's Summer Youth Employment Program

DEADLINE FRIDAY 4/10/2015! WE WILL BE SENDING EMAILS TO SELECTED APPLICANTS FOR AN INTERVIEW ON TUESDAY, 4/21.

As part of the Mayor’s Summer Youth Employment Program (MSYEP), the City of Malden is now accepting applications from middle school, high school and college students up to age 21 who are seeking a summer employment experience with the City of Malden. You must be a Malden resident. These opportunities are paid and vary, depending on funding criteria. Job placements are located throughout the City of Malden.

The application linked must be completed in its entirety. All applicants 18 years and older are required to pass a Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) application & background check. 

Timeline for Mayor’s Summer Youth Employment Program

 

DATE

TIME

MYSEP Application Process Begins

Friday, February 27

8:00 AM

MYSEP Application Process Ends

Friday, April 10

12:00 Noon

Placement Process Begins

Monday, April 13

8:00 AM

Interviews at Malden High School (for those who have not previously worked for MSYEP)

Tuesday, April 21

11:00 AM-3:00 PM

Placement Process Ends

Friday, May 8

12:00 Noon

Contact Placed Youth

Friday, May 15

via email

Employment Start Date –

           Summer Camps

Wednesday, July 1

t/b/d

Employment Start Date –

            All other employment

Monday, July 6

t/b/d

 

Youth Orientation Schedule: 

LOCATION

DATE

TIME

MVRCS (tentative)

Monday, May 18 

3:30-4:30 PM

City Council Chambers

Wednesday, May 20

3:30-4:30 PM

City Council Chambers

Thursday, May 21

4:00-5:00 PM

City Council Chambers

Thursday, May 28

3:00-4:30 PM

t/b/d

Saturday, June 6

10:30 - 11:30 AM

 

Supervisor Orientation

LOCATION

DATE

TIME

City Council Chambers

Thursday, June 4 

4:30 -5:30 PM

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call our Program Manager Karen Colon Hayes at 781-397-7000, Ext. 2000.

 --- STOP! ---

Before you get started filling out the form, we want to make sure you have composed your "Quality One Page Personal Statement."  For example, list your accomplishments, your hobbies, extracurricular activities, work experience etc. If this is your first year applying, tell us why you want to work for MSYEP. If you worked for MSYEP previously, tell us what you learned from your experience. This is not something we want you to rush so please take the time to write it and have it available on your computer to cut and paste in the text section when you get to that question in the form.

 Click here to begin filling out your Mayor's Summer Youth Employment Program Application (This will open a new web broswer window with the application in it)

Related Links